NEWTONGRANGE COMMUNITY COUNCIL

Annual General Meeting of the Newtongrange Community Council, Held in Newbattle Community Learning Centre on Tuesday 30th October 2018

Present:

Jason FerryJohn MuirPeter QuinnMaureen McRaeJune RobertsonBob MurrayAnn GunnRon Campbell

OC Brian McGuff Paul Johnston (Communities Officer)

- 1. Apologies were received from Andrew Marshall and Cllr Jim Muirhead
- 2. Acceptance of the minutes of the 2017 Annual General Meeting held on 28th of November 2017 was proposed by John Muir and seconded by Bob Murray
- 3. There were no matters arising from the minutes of the last meeting.
- 4. Reports;
 - a. Chairman's Report. The chairman thanked colleagues for their attendance and support throughout the past year, There had been several active challenges and changes throughout Newtongrange and the Community Council had been active in representing the views of the village and protecting village facilities in the face of their uncertain future. There remained a need for the Council to remain vigilant and active in the coming years, and the hoped that members would remain active in the life of the village. He advised the council that Ron Campbell would be standing down from the council after 10 years as Secretary and thanked him for his work on behalf of the Community Council.
 - b. Treasurer's Report. The Treasurer reported a balance of £2862.17 in the account. He reported that, apart from some £1.06 in bank interest, the income consisted of an administrative grant from Midlothian Council of £335. Outgoings had included Repairs to the Community Noticeboard of £122.93; Glo-sticks for the Christmas event of £92.65, as well as the Information Commissioners fee and a remembrance Wreath.
- 5. Nominations and Election to the Council.

The Community Council consisted of 11 members, and by constitution, if less than 11 but more than half of the constituted members were nominated to stand for election, then they should be appointed without further vote. Only 8 persons were nominated, therefore they are deemed to form the Newtongrange Community Council. They are:

Jason FerryAnn GunnAndrew MarshallMaureen McRaeJohn MuirBob Murray

Peter Quinn June Robertson.

6. Election of Office Bearers.

There was a need to elect the office bearers of Chair, Deputy-Chair, Treasurer and Secretary. However, the past Chair was reluctant to continue due to time limitations, and no other member wished to stand. Similarly, no member wished to stand as Secretary. Following discussion, it was decided to convene a 'Special Meeting' prior to the next Community Council meeting to discuss the matter fully and plan the way ahead. Jason Ferry

agreed to publicize the special meeting on Facebook etc, and to discuss the matter prior to the meeting with the Communities Officer.

John Muir was nominated as Treasurer by Jason Ferry and Seconded by Peter Quinn, and was elected Treasurer.

- 7. There being no further business, the meeting closed at 7.25 PM
- 8. Date of Next Annual General Meeting: Tue 29th October 2019 at 7pm

J Ferry Chair